Ten Steps Plus - Student Access (printed)

Ten Steps Plus - Student Access (printed)

Product details

  • Author: John Langan
  • SKU/ISBN: 978-1-59194-478-2
  • Year: 2016
  • Page count: 3 000
  • Reading level: 5-13
  • Weight: 0.07 lb
  • Availability: In stock
Share This: 


10-month digital subscription to Ten Steps Plus. This printed card, delivered by mail, contains a code granting students full access to Ten Steps eBooks, 100+ Townsend Library eBooks, and electronic assignments for the complete Ten Steps Series of texts: Groundwork for College Reading, 5/eGroundwork for College Reading with Phonics, 5/eTen Steps to Building College Reading Skills, 6/eTen Steps to Improving College Reading Skills, 7/eTen Steps to Advancing College Reading Skills, 6/e, and Ten Steps to Mastering College Reading Skills.

More information

Key Features of the Learning Center and Ten Steps Plus:


College Reading Assessments

These assess students’ specific skills and provide meaningful data that can inform class instruction. 

Thousands of Interactive Items

Each item includes helpful annotations that effectively teach the reading skills students need to learn. 

Integrated Mastery Tests 

Written by the author of the text, these tests feature the same clarity and friendly tone found in each Ten Steps text. They are also seamlessly linked to the skills taught in the books/eBooks.

The Townsend eBook Reader

This browser-based reader allows students to read, bookmark, highlight, and annotate their Townsend Press eBooks.

Open-Ended Assignments

New to the Learning Center and available in Ten Steps Plus, these include writing prompts and hosted discussions for Townsend Library titles, allowing students to interact with readings and with classmates to facilitate learning.


Ten Steps and the Common Core State Standards


Looking for a powerful, effective, Common Core-aligned resource to help you teach reading to your students? With the Ten Steps Series and Ten Steps Plus, you’ve got it.

For more than two decades, Ten Steps has helped millions of students learn the reading skills needed for success in the classroom and beyond. Developed to prepare college students for the rigors of college-level reading courses, the Ten Steps Series addresses the competencies and benchmarks outlined in the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for grades 6–12.

The connection between the Common Core and Ten Steps emerges from their shared educational fundamentals. Both draw from practical classroom experience and research in the field of reading. Both focus on the same goal: to empower students to be strong, active, and critical readers. And both, in an effort to achieve this goal, outline a series of foundational skills students need to master. Ten Steps goes one step further; it teaches these skills with a range of print-based and electronic practice exercises, assignments, readings, and mastery tests. The result has been a hugely successful series of books that have helped millions of college students transition from developmental reading courses into the advanced classes they need for degrees. This same trajectory of success is available now to middle and high school students.

Every one of the six books in the Ten Steps Series and Ten Steps Plus covers the CCSS Anchor Standards for Grades 6–12 itemized below, in the following categories: Reading, Writing, Speaking & Listening, and Language.

In addition, all of the books in the Ten Steps Series also fulfill key CCSS benchmarks for the specific grade levels they span. The downloadable Ten Steps Series CCSS Grade-Level Analysis lists the specific CCSS benchmarks, by grade, covered in each of the Ten Steps books.

[1] CCSS Anchor Standards citations are coded as follows: The abbreviation of the instructional strand’s name and then the standard number. So the standard labeled “R.3” indicates the “Reading” strand, standard number three, which is “Analyze how and why individuals, events, and ideas develop and interact over the course of a text.” For a complete listing of the CCSS, please visit www.corestandards.org.



What's included in this Ten Steps Plus 10-month subscription:


NEW! Ten Steps eBooks:

Ten Steps is the best selling series of books for teaching college-level reading. A subscription to Ten Steps Plus provides access to eBooks of the entire series inside the Learning Center!  

NEW! The Readings Bank:

This collection of new readings—complete with Lexile scores, reading comprehension questions, and writing assignments—retains the same lively, high-interest tone and content found in our books.

NEW! The Skills Bank:

Exercises and tests from Ten Steps have been restructured for tutoring programs, labs, or co-requisite classes. The result? You can now choose the skill, level, and sequence you want to teach. Want to cover a unit on main ideas? Looking to teach a modular course on inferences? The Skills Bank makes it easy.

NEW! The Townsend Library:

To become stronger readers, students need to read. With Ten Steps Plus, they can. eBooks of all 100+ titles in the popular Townsend Library are available AND can be assigned in classes.

Exercises and Mastery Tests:

The Learning Center has long hosted thousands of Ten Steps exercises and test items to teach reading skills. These acclaimed materials are now part of Ten Steps Plus.